Communities and Justice


The NSW Government’s new investment will expand the Core and Cluster model of crisis accommodation model across NSW. 

On 21 November 2022, the NSW Government announced the delivery of up to 39 new women’s refuges under Tranche 1 and Tranche 2 of the Core and Cluster Program. The selected sites will be the first new refuges delivered under the NSW Government’s record $484.3 million investment for housing and specialist supports for women experiencing domestic and family violence and their children. The locations of these new refuges will be targeted to areas of high unmet demand for crisis accommodation, with a focus on regional and rural areas, to ensure women escaping Domestic and Family Violence (DFV) can access the services they need.

The interactive map provides a visual display of the locations of new and existing government funded women’s refuges across NSW, by Local Government Area (LGA). The placement of dots within an LGA is not representative of the refuge’s actual address. This information is confidential for safety reasons.

The map provides the option to view the data by:

  • Local Government Area
  • Core and Cluster Program stage (Tranche) 1 or 2
  • Aboriginal led service providers
  • The number of DFV related assaults recorded by NSW Police (2021/22) and/or the rate of incidents. 

For Tranche 3 procurement, applications will be accepted from all areas of NSW, with priority given to applications from Aboriginal Community Controlled Organisations and applications located in areas that address high need and where access to services is limited.

For more information on Tranche 3 procurement, visit the Core and cluster procurement process page.

Information about procurement activity will be published on the NSW Government e-tendering website. Interested parties should monitor this site for the latest information or Interested parties contact

The list below shows the allocation of refuges by Local Government Area (LGA). LGAs with more than one proposed new refuge have the quantity recorded next to the name. 

Please note that the following list of locations is subject to change.


  • Albury
  • Bathurst
  • Blacktown
  • Broken Hill
  • Canterbury-Bankstown (4)
  • Central Coast
  • Clarence Valley 
  • Coffs Harbour
  • Dubbo 
  • Eurobodalla Shire 
  • Griffith
  • Gunnedah Shire 
  • Hawkesbury
  • Hornsby (2)
  • Lake Macquarie
  • Lithgow
  • Liverpool
  • Maitland
  • Newcastle
  • Northern Beaches
  • Parramatta
  • Penrith (2) 
  • Port Macquarie-Hastings
  • Port Stephens
  • Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional
  • Richmond Valley 
  • Shoalhaven (2)
  • Singleton
  • Sydney
  • Tamworth Regional
  • Tweed Heads Council
  • Wagga Wagga
  • Wollongong
Last updated:

29 Mar 2023