Aboriginal Services Unit

The Aboriginal Services Unit (ASU) delivers specialised services to frontline clients and community through the Circle Sentencing program, Aboriginal Community Justice Groups and our service delivery in local courts. We also influence diversion strategies, projects and policy development through our informed and expert knowledge of Aboriginal people experiencing the NSW justice system as victims and offenders.

ASU works to build pathways to justice for Aboriginal people and achieves this through:

  • Providing high-quality services and support to Aboriginal offenders and victims at court.
  • Commitment to improving customer experiences through our service delivery.
  • Collaborating with key internal and external DCJ stakeholders to design and implement culturally responsive approaches to addressing overrepresentation in the criminal justice system.
  • Designing and implementing programs in courts to target Aboriginal people’s offending.
  • Working with Aboriginal communities to develop local solutions to contribute to safer local communities.
  • Helping build the evidence base about ‘what works’ with Aboriginal offenders.

Regional teams

The Aboriginal Services Unit is made up of six interconnected teams based across NSW: a central team in Parramatta and five regional teams that drive frontline service delivery in the following local courts:

Western North-West Northern Southern Metropolitan
Dubbo Moree Taree Downing Centre Wyong
Orange Walgett Kempsey Campbelltown Gosford
Condobolin Bourke Coffs Harbour Wollongong Parramatta (Children’s Court)
Broken Hill Armidale Maclean Nowra Blacktown
Wagga Wagga Tamworth Lismore Batemans Bay Mt Druitt
Griffith Inverell



Last updated:

31 Aug 2023

Was this content useful?
We will use your rating to help improve the site.
Please don't include personal or financial information here Please don't include personal or financial information here
Please don't include personal or financial information here Please don't include personal or financial information here

We acknowledge Aboriginal people as the First Nations Peoples of NSW and pay our respects to Elders past, present, and future. 

Informed by lessons of the past, Department of Communities and Justice is improving how we work with Aboriginal people and communities. We listen and learn from the knowledge, strength and resilience of Stolen Generations Survivors, Aboriginal Elders and Aboriginal communities.

You can access our apology to the Stolen Generations.

Top Return to top of page Top