NSW Carers Advisory Council overview

NSW Carers (Recognition) Act 2010

The NSW Carers Advisory Council was established under the NSW Carers (Recognition) Act 2010. The objectives of the Act are to:

  • enact a Carers Charter to recognise the role and contribution of carers to our community and to the people they care for
  • increase awareness of the valuable contribution that carers make to our community.

About the NSW Carers Advisory Council

The NSW Carers Advisory Council advances the interests of carers. The Council provides advice to the NSW Government on legislation, policy and other matters relating to carers.

Carers provide ongoing unpaid support to people who need it because of their disability, chronic illness, mental ill-health, dementia or frail age.

Council members

Council members are appointed by the Minister for Families and Communities for a four year term.

The majority of Council members have current or previous experience of being a carer. Members have diverse backgrounds and expertise and come from a range of metropolitan and regional areas in NSW. See biographies for each Council member.

  • Prue Warrilow (Chair)
  • Pam Webster (Deputy Chair)
  • Dianne Brookes
  • Mary-Jane Clark
  • Philip Coller
  • Rose Cox
  • Ms Amanda Sharma
  • Ms Jenny Tran
  • Rachael Sowden

Directly appointed representatives

  • Elena Katrakis, Chief Executive Officer, Carers NSW
  • Anthony Shannon, Department of Communities and Justice
  • Liz Junck, NSW Ministry of Health


Email: NSWCarersAdvisoryCouncilSecretariat@facs.nsw.gov.au

The Department of Communities and Justice provides the secretariat for the NSW Carers Advisory Council.

Last updated:

30 May 2023